## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

The author makes grateful acknowledgement of his indebtedness to Prof. C.V. Ramakrishnan and Dr. R. Rajalakshmi for their guidance in the conduct of these investigations. The author also wishes to express his sincere thanks to the members of the department for their kind cooperation.

The author is indebted to Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India for the award of a Junior Research Fellowship during the course of this work. The investigations reported in this thesis were supported in part by grants from U.S. Naval Research Scheme No. NOOO14-71-C-0445 given to Dr. R. Rajalakshmi.