ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS.

I take this opportunity of expressing my sincere thanks to Dr. J. R. Pandya, for his continued guidance, unfailing encouragement and keep interest throughout the course of this work.

I am greatful to Prof. N. S. Pandya, Head of the Physics Department for his kind interest and for providing excellent facilities in the Physics Research Laboratory of the Faculty of Science.

It is a pleasure to thank Dr. R. K. Shukla, Dr. C. L. Saraf, Dr. D. J. Vaghari, Mr. K. L. Patel, Mr. R. T. Shah, Mr. B. D. Rathod, Miss N. Vaishampayan and other research associates for the help rendered in various forms during the course of the work and in the preparation of this thesis. The co-operation of the staff of the Central Workshop during the period of the work is acknowledged.

I am indebted to the Government of Gujarat for awarding me a Research Scholarship which enabled me to carry out this work.