ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The author expresses his deep sense of gratitude to Dr. L.S. Chamyal, Department of Geology, for his guidance and constant encouragement. His perservance and moral support has largely been responsible for the successful completion of this study.

He is grateful to Prof. N.D. Desai, Head, Department of Geology and Professors M.P. Patel and S.J. Desai for providing departmental facilities, support and encouragement.

The author has been considerably benefitted from useful discussions with Prof. S. S. Merh, Prof. K.S. Valdiya, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Research, Bangalore, Prof. B. Parkash, University of Roorkee, Prof. S.N. Rajaguru, Pune, Prof. S.K. Tandon, Delhi University, Dr. R.K. Pant, WIHG, Dehradun, Prof. A.K. Singhvi and Shri Navin Juyal, PRL, Ahmedabad.

Help and assistance provided by Ms. Rachna Raj has been invaluable at all stages of this work. Dr. J.N. Malik, Dr. V. Sridhar and Shri A.S. Khadkikar are thanked for their help in many ways. Help received from Shri C.P. Mistry in drafting the diagrams is duly acknowledged.

The author is thankful to all his colleagues in the department for their help and support.

Shri Sanjay Makwana, Shri N.D. Wankar and Shri Kishore Makwana helped in the field as well as in the laboratory.

(D.M. Maurya)