ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I take this opportunity to express my sincere thanks and indebtedness to Prof. K.N. Trivedi, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, M.S. University of Baroda, Baroda for suggesting the problem and helpful guidance during the course of this work.

I am also very much thankful to Prof. J.S. Dave for his interest and critical suggestions made during the various phases of the investigation and also for going through the manuscript.

Special thanks are due to Prof. P.K. Bhattacharya, Head, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, M.S. University of Baroda, Baroda for his keen interest during the course of this work.

I am also thankful to Dr. Sukh Dev, Director, Mali-Chem Research Centre, Nandesari, Dist. Baroda for NMR spectra of the compounds; Dr. S.S. Lele and Shri S.S. Madhavarao for microanalyses of the compounds.

Thanks are also due to the Management, Tolani College of Arts and Science, Adipur (Kutch) for granting me the necessary leave and to the University Grants Commission, New Delhi, India for the award of Teacher Fellowship.

The co-operation by my colleagues is heartily acknowledged.

- D.M. THAKKAR