ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I have pleasure in recording my gratitude to Prof. K.N. Trivedi, Head, Chemistry Department, M.S. University of Baroda, for providing the necessary laboratory facilities.

I am thankful to Dr. S.S. Lele, Reader, & Shri S.S. Madhavarao, Microanalyst, Chemistry Department, M.S. University of Baroda for the elemental analyses of the compounds.

My thanks are also due to Prof. M. Santappa, Director, C.L.R.I., Madras, Dr. K.V. Chalapathi, S.V. Arts College, Tirupathi, Mr. Amiya Roy, Faculty of Technology, M.S. University of Baroda and Computer Centre, M.S. University of Baroda for the successful setting up and execution of the computer programme.

I also acknowledge my thanks to Shri Dinesh R. Bhavsar for the careful typing of the thesis, to Shri S.D. Kalambate, I.I.T., Bombay for the splendid drawings and to the U.G.C., New Delhi for a Junior Research Fellowship.