ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

I am deeply indebted to Professor Suresh Sethna, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, M.S.University of Baroda and formerly Professor and Head of the Chemistry Department, M.S.University of Baroda, for suggesting the problem and for his valuable guidance during the course of this work. His sincere interest and enthusiasm were a constant source of encouragement throughout the work.

Thanks are due to Dr.Sukh Dev, Director, Malti-Chem Research Centre, Nandesari, Dr.Nityanand, Director, Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow and Dr.N.D.Ghatge, National Chemical Laboratory, Poona, for the NMR spectra.

Thanks are due to Professor K.N.Trivedi, Head of the Chemistry Department, M.S.University of Baroda, for the facilities given for this work.

Thanks are also due to Dr. Somshekhar, Sarabhai Research Centre, Baroda Aand Shri R.R. Shah of the Chemistry Department, M.S. University of Baroda, for IR spectra.

The author is also indebted to Dr.S.S.Lele, Reader in Analytical Chemistry and Shri S.S.Madhava Rao of this Department for the micro-analysis of the compounds.

I thank the University Grants Commission for the award of a Research Fellowship.

I thank all my fellow-workers and members of the staff for their kind co-operation and help during the course of this work and Shri P.R.Deshpande for typing the manuscript.